DFG Coordinated Programs

The seal of quality and advertisement of the Johannes Gutenberg University's scientific capability are, in particular, the Collaborative Research Centers, Research Units, and Research Centers promoted by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG), as well as the research centers financed jointly by the state and federal authorities. The existing main centers of research in materials science, geosciences, in the humanities and social sciences, as well as in immunological medicine, including tumour medicine, neurosciences, preventive medicine and minimal invasive surgery, are making their mark through these institutions.

Collaborative Research Centers ...
Research Units ...
Research Training Groups ...
Priority Programms ...
Reinhart Kosselleck-Projects ...


A list of the DFG-funded Emmy Noether Groups working at the JGU Mainz as well as young researchers groups funded by institutions can be found here.


DFG Collaborative Research Centers 

Collaborative Research Centers (CRC = German: Sonderforschungsbereiche/SFB) allow working on extensive Research Projects by bundling all ressources of a University. They can last up to twelve years. If multiple universities participate in a Collaborative Research Center it is called a Transregio (SFB -TR).

Coordinated at Johannes Gutenberg-University



Johannes Gutenberg-University participates


DFG Research Units 

A research unit funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) is a medium-term amalgamation of several scientists. They work together on a special research assignment going beyond the funding possibilities available within the scope of individual funding in the normal or main research procedure in its thematic, temporal and financial extent. Research units often contribute towards establishing new directions of working. At present, there are the following DFG Research Units at the Johannes Gutenberg University:


Coordinated at Johannes Gutenberg University

Johannes Gutenberg University participates


DFG Research Training Groups 

Research Training Groups are university training programs which are established for a specific period of time, funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the state of Rhineland-Palatinate. They aim at supporting young researchers in their pursuit of a doctorate. These Research Training Groups give doctoral candidates with the opportunity to work within a co-ordinated research program supervised by a number of university teachers. The study program wants to complement and extend the postgraduate's individual specializations as well as provide a structure for co-operation. At present, there are the following Research Training Groups funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) at the Johannes Gutenberg University:


Johannes Gutenberg-University is (Co-)Applicant

Johannes Gutenberg-University participates


    DFG Priority Programmes 

    A particular feature of the Priority Programme is the nationwide cooperation between its participating researchers. The DFG Senate may establish Priority Programmes when the coordinated support given to the area in question promises to produce particular scientific gain. As a rule, Priority Programmes receive funding for a period of six years. Once the Senate has established the programme, the DFG announces a call for proposals.

    Coordinated at Johannes Gutenberg-University


      Reinhart Koselleck-Projects 

      This programme enables outstanding researchers with a proven scientific track record to pursue exceptionally innovative, higher-risk projects.