University Council

The University Council advises and supports the university in all key issues and cultivates its profile as well as its performability and competitive capacity. Decisions made by the Senate on enacting or changing the constitution, the university's overall development plan or the quality assurance system must be approved by the University Council. It consists of ten members; five come from within the university and five from the fields of commerce, science and public life. The tenure of the Board of Governors is five years.


Members (tenure period 1 January 2014 - 31 December 2018)

Professor Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner

Professor Dr. Walter Kröll, Professor Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro

Waltraud Reinhardt, , Tel +49 6131 39-22419


Members appointed by the Minister of Education, Science, Continuing Education, and Culture

  • Professor Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, Member of the Shareholders' Committee, C.H. Boehringer Sohn AG & Co. KG
  • Professor Dr. Walter Kröll, former President of Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft
  • Professor Dr. Irene Dingel, Director of the Department of History of Occidental Religion at the Leibniz-Institute of European History
  • Dr. Leopold von Heimendahl, former Spokesperson of the Board, Schott Glas Company
  • Krista Sager, former Senator for Science and Research, former science spokeswoman of the Green fraction in the German Bundestag


Members elected by the Senate of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

  • Professor Dr. Stefan Aufenanger, Faculty 02 - Social Sciences, Media, and Sports
  • Professor Dr. Beatrice Weder di Mauro, Faculty 03 - Law, Management and Economics
  • Professor Dr. Marietta Horster, Faculty 07 - History and Cultural Studies
  • Dr. Friedrich Kayser, Faculty 08 - Physics, Mathematics, and Computer Science
  • stud. Siglinde Brahmst, Faculty 05 - Philosophy and Philology