Administration

With its efficient and sustainable management of science and research, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz has been among the leading universities in German-speaking countries for more than a decade now.

Already in 1999, the JGU Central Administration was restructured on the basis of its New Management Model aiming at supporting innovative research. This reform process included the modernization of administrative structures and procedures as well as the restructuring of the faculties in 2005. The national Center for Higher Education (CHE) honored JGU's efforts with its Best Practice award in 2002.

Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz is organized in ten faculties, the School of Music, and the Mainz Academy of Arts. These are the basic units of JGU. The University Council, the President, and the University Senate are its central administrative bodies.

Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen

Organisation

Die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU) zählt mit ihrem effizienten und nachhaltigen Wissenschaftsmanagement seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt zu den führenden Universitäten im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Bereits im Jahr 1999 wurde mit der Entwicklung und Einführung des Neuen Steuerungsmodells (NSM) die zentrale Verwaltung im Hinblick auf eine optimale Unterstützung für innovative Forschung umstrukturiert. Der Reformprozess umfasste neben der Modernisierung der Verwaltungsabläufe und -strukturen auch die 2005 vollzogene Neustrukturierung der Fachbereiche. Diese Anstrengungen wurden 2002 durch den Best Practice-Preis des CHE gewürdigt.

Die JGU gliedert sich derzeit in zehn Fachbereiche und zwei künstlerische Hochschulen. Diese bilden die organisatorischen Grundeinheiten der Universität. Die zentralen Organe der Universität sind der Hochschulrat, der Präsident und der Senat.

Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen