About JGU

With about 36,500 students from about 130 nations, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) is one of the ten largest universities in Germany. As the only comprehensive university in Rhineland-Palatinate, JGU combines almost all academic disciplines under one roof, including the Mainz University Medical Center, the School of Music, and the Mainz Academy of Arts. This is a unique feature in the German academic landscape. With 75 fields of study and a total of 242 degree courses, including 107 Bachelor’s and 118 Master’s degree programs, JGU offers an extraordinarily broad range of courses. Some 4,150 academics, including 540 professors, teach and conduct research in JGU's more than 150 departments, institutes, and clinics (as of December 1, 2011; financed by federal and third-party funding).

JGU is a globally renowned research university of national and international recognition. This reputation comes thanks to its outstanding individual researchers as well as extraordinary research achievements in the field of particle and hadron physics, materials sciences, translational medicine, the life sciences, media disciplines, and historical cultural studies.

JGU’s scientific prowess has been affirmed by its success in the Excellence Initiative by the German federal and state governments to promote top-level research at German universities: Mainz University is one of 23 universities in Germany that have received approval for a so-called Cluster of Excellence as well as approval for a Graduate School of Excellence. The Cluster of Excellence on "Precision Physics, Fundamental Interactions and Structure of Matter" (PRISMA), which is primarily a collaboration between particle and hadron physicists, and the Graduate School of Excellence "MAterials Science IN MainZ" (MAINZ) are considered among the elite research groups worldwide. These two projects will receive financing to the tune of EUR 50 million by 2017.

The university's good positions in national and international rankings and the award of numerous research prizes are further confirmation of the importance and success of the research being conducted by JGU-based academics. This success has been made possible in part through the unique large-scale research equipment available at Mainz University, such as the TRIGA light water research reactor and the MAMI electron accelerator, which both attract researchers from around the world. The research-oriented teaching – with targeted and early integration of research content into the curriculum – is another key element of the JGU philosophy.

JGU is the sole German university of this size to combine almost all institutes on one campus, while also housing four partner research institutions that conduct cutting-edge research outside the organizational structure of the university itself. There are also on-campus student dormitories and childcare facilities. The clinical and clinical/theory institutes of the Mainz University Medical Center are located within roughly one kilometer of the campus.

JGU lives the notion of a civic university being an integral part of society and collaborating with the community it is part of. This means that it also provides lifelong learning programs and promotes timely and comprehensive knowledge and technology transfer.

Founded in 1477 during the era of Johannes Gutenberg and reopened after a 150-year break in 1946 by the French forces then based in Germany, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz owes much to the man whose name it bears and his achievements. With his achievements in mind, the university strives to promote and implement innovative ideas, to help improve people’s living conditions through knowledge, to facilitate their access to education and science, and to encourage people to transcend the many restraints that they encounter on a daily basis.

This is the mission that Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz has set itself.

The Gutenberg Spirit: Moving Minds – Crossing Boundaries

 

 

 

Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen

Über die JGU

Die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU) zählt mit rund 36.500 Studierenden aus über 130 Nationen zu den zehn größten Universitäten Deutschlands. Als einzige Volluniversität des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz vereint sie nahezu alle akademischen Disziplinen, inklusive Universitätsmedizin Mainz und zwei künstlerischer Hochschulen, unter einem Dach – eine in der bundesdeutschen Hochschullandschaft einmalige Integration. Mit 75 Studienfächern mit insgesamt 242 Studienangeboten, darunter 107 Bachelor- und 118 Masterstudiengängen sowie 8 Zusatz-, Aufbau- und Erweiterungsstudiengängen, bietet die JGU eine außergewöhnlich breite Palette an Studienmöglichkeiten. Rund 4.150 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, darunter 540 Professorinnen und Professoren, lehren und forschen in mehr als 150 Instituten und Kliniken (Stichtag: 01.12.2011, aus Landes- und Drittmitteln finanziert).

Die JGU ist eine internationale Forschungsuniversität mit weltweiter Anerkennung. Dieses Renommee verdankt sie sowohl ihren herausragenden Forscherpersönlichkeiten als auch ihren exzellenten Forschungsleistungen in der Teilchen- und Hadronenphysik, den Materialwissenschaften, der translationalen Medizin, den Lebenswissenschaften, den Mediendisziplinen und den historischen Kulturwissenschaften.

Die wissenschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz wird durch den Erfolg in der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder bestätigt: Die JGU gehört zu den 23 Hochschulen in Deutschland, die es geschafft haben, sowohl eine Bewilligung für ein Exzellenzcluster als auch eine Bewilligung für eine Exzellenz-Graduiertenschule zu erhalten. Ihr Exzellenzcluster PRISMA, in dem vorwiegend Teilchen- und Hadronenphysiker zusammenarbeiten, und ihre materialwissenschaftliche Exzellenz-Graduiertenschule MAINZ zählen zur internationalen Forschungselite. Bis zu 50 Millionen Euro werden bis 2017 in diese beiden Projekte fließen.

Zudem bestätigen gute Platzierungen in nationalen und internationalen Rankings sowie zahlreiche weitere Auszeichnungen die Forschungserfolge der Mainzer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Diese Erfolge werden u.a. durch die einzigartigen Großforschungsanlagen der JGU ermöglicht, wie den Forschungsreaktor TRIGA und den Elektronenbeschleuniger MAMI, die Forscherinnen und Forscher aus aller Welt anziehen. Die forschungsorientierte Lehre – die gezielte und frühzeitige Einbindung von Forschungsinhalten in die Curricula – ist ein weiteres Profilmerkmal.

Als einzige deutsche Universität ihrer Größe vereint die JGU fast alle Institute auf einem innenstadtnahen Campus, der zudem vier Partnerinstitute der außeruniversitären Spitzenforschung beherbergt. Ebenfalls auf dem Campus angesiedelt sind studentische Wohnheime und Kinderbetreuungseinrichtungen. Die klinischen und klinisch-theoretischen Einrichtungen der Universitätsmedizin liegen nur circa einen Kilometer entfernt.

Die JGU versteht sich als "offene Universität" (civic university), als integraler Bestandteil der Gesellschaft, mit der sie eng und vertrauensvoll zusammenarbeitet. Dies umfasst unter anderem das sogenannte lebenslange Lernen sowie den zügigen und umfassenden Wissens- und Technologietransfer.

Zu Gutenbergs Zeiten im Jahr 1477 gegründet und nach 150-jähriger Pause 1946 von der damaligen französischen Besatzungsmacht wiedereröffnet, ist die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz dem Vorbild und dem internationalen Wirkungsanspruch ihres Namensgebers bis heute verpflichtet: innovative Ideen zu fördern und umzusetzen; Wissen zu nutzen, um die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen und deren Zugang zu Bildung und Wissenschaft zu verbessern; sie zu bewegen, die vielfältigen Grenzen zu überschreiten, denen sie täglich begegnen.

Das ist der Anspruch, dem sich die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz stellt.

The Gutenberg Spirit: Moving Minds – Crossing Boundaries

 

 

 

 

 



WERBUNG

Zum Inhalt der Seite springen Zur Navigation der Seite springen